Fat at New Year: A Poem

I am nothing

More

Or less

Than a pie on the ocean floor

Gasping for air

And the body I will never have.

 

I see you, Mr Crab

Walking sideways, pincers out

Pinch my fat

I won’t walk anywhere

But I will eat you for dinner.

2 leek, 2 carrot, 1 onion, 1 celery stick, 1 small fennel bulb, 1 garlic head, halved, large sprig each basil, thyme, tarragon and parsley, 20g rock salt, 1 lemon, sliced, 2ml white wine vinegar, 2 star anise, 300ml dry white wine, 1 whole fresh crab

Yum.

 

My carb-face

Is a bloated, savory pie

Running out of thyme.

I read that pun on a Christmas card once.

The card got covered in drool.

One thought on “Fat at New Year: A Poem

Leave a Reply

