I’m Going Vegan & Stuff

Hey, guys. Long time no cliché opening line. I spent about 10 minutes catching up on my best friend Shaylee’s blog earlier today, and it reminded me how interesting personal blogs can be. (Sort of. Sometimes. Mostly if you’re Eli McCann.) I want to do more posts along those lines, but I also don’t want to bore you all with the mundane details of my life. (Clickbait, eating, trying to invent games my coworkers will play with me to pass time at work, etc.)

So today I’ll just tell you about one thing that’s new with me: going vegan. If you don’t know already, I’ve actually always been really into nutrition. I’m the annoying person who always feels the need to correct people on their nutrition knowledge (don’t get me started on guys trying to gain muscle.) My fascination is partly because I used to look like this:

IMG_0228 2

So if anyone’s looking for any weight gain tips, you can hire me to become your nutrition consultant and I’ll charge you a fraction of what I charge for freelance writing. Deal?

Now, veganism. If you’re thinking, “OMG Sam what about all those times you’ve tweeted making fun of vegans?” Those times are in the past. Sort of. I can’t predict when comedy will next strike, but its eluding me a lot lately so I wouldn’t be too worried.

I grew up in a pretty vegan-vegetarian family, so the idea of being vegan had definitely crossed my mind in the past. But as we all know, finding things to eat as a vegan can sometimes be tricky, and as a youth it was even more of an impossible-seeming task. Plus, I wasn’t that keen on the idea, if I’m being perfectly honest.

I’ve seen basically every documentary there is about nutrition/fat people getting skinny/skinny people getting fat/fat people getting skinny only to get fat again, so naturally I’ve long been aware of some of the horrors of the meat and dairy industry. I’ve also read the book Skinny Bitch (highly recommend—seriously, buy a copy NOW and enjoy laughing and learning your way through it), which really opened up my eyes. But it wasn’t until recently that it really hit me how horrifying eating animals and their infant milk and goodness knows what else really is.

You see, we got an extremely adorable kitten called Clickbait a few months ago. (Cats are also something I used to make fun of people for, by the way. You become what you mock, I guess.) Clickbait and I rapidly become best friends, and we snuggle every night except when he’s in one of his biting/stroppy moods. Having this tiny little animal in my home and heart made me realize that I cannot accept any kind of animal abuse.

10403422_10153604934576779_1169068816287850236_n

If anyone thinks that the animals they’re eating don’t face legitimate abuse, they’re living in a fantasy world. Those “cage-free hens” you think you’re buying eggs from live in almost identical conditions to the hens who live in cages… they just have to deal with less separation between them and the thousands of other birds who will hurt them. It’s insane that in 2015, animals as beautiful and intelligent and feeling as cows and pigs are being tortured for human consumption. Not to mention the fact that people are now gorging themselves on animals (NBD, it’s not like they died for you) and becoming overweight and unhealthy as a result.

There are a lot of fantastic resources available if you’re interested in learning more about veganism/why the hell anyone would choose it. I’ll write more in-depth posts if anyone is interested, but for now I’m keeping things general. A video that really impacted me was 101 Reasons to Go Vegan. I strongly encourage you to watch it, if only to become aware of the consequences of what you’re doing. (Choosing to be ignorant doesn’t make you a better person, sorry. Take responsibility for your decisions by at least being educated on what they entail.)

I also like the YouTuber, Kalel Cullen, who I used to hate-watch when she was an annoying beauty guru. Basically, you can watch anyone’s “Why I went vegan” videos and begin to understand the numerous benefits to going vegan, both health-wise and not-torturing-innocent-animals-wise.

Veganism is one of the healthiest diets you can live by. I’m sorry, but anyone who tells you otherwise doesn’t know what they’re talking about. Providing you’re not the kind of vegan who just eats a bunch of crappy food—and you actually substitute all the gross meat and dairy you used to eat with more fruits and vegetables and seeds and whatnot—veganism will give you more energy, better skin, higher happiness levels, and generally better health in a lot of ways.

This is not an original thought of mine, and I’m hoping you’ve already heard it, but for anyone reading this who thinks vegans don’t get enough protein—when have you heard of someone having a protein deficiency? It’s not a thing. There is plenty of protein in a healthy vegan diet.

The only nutrient not available to vegans is vitamin B12, which I get from eating Marmite (that yucky British yeast paste that I love) or drinking KambuCha. (Anyone know if the traces of alcohol found in it can get you a DUI? Genuinely curious.)

In the interest of full disclosure, I’ll admit that I still sometimes take bites of my husband’s food if we go out and he orders something not vegan. We don’t buy anything non-vegan at home—everything I cook is vegan and delicious, but I can’t force Connor to eat vegan when we go to restaurants, and when he’s already decided to order something, I don’t feel guilty trying a bite. I wouldn’t encourage him to order something non-vegan though, of course. I’ve also been eating fish now and then, when we go out to eat and there’s literally NOTHING vegan on the menu. It’s not something I want to do often, but it seems like the least evil option when I’m in a pinch. (Fish aren’t as sentient as animals.)

So yeah—I have some final changes I still need to make to be legitimately considered “vegan”, I guess (people love judging you the second you break your label!)

In case you care AT ALL (there are people who do. Weird, right?) I sometimes make “grocery haul” videos on my YouTube channel because *content*. And I’d like to make real videos talking about this exciting new lifestyle once I have a real camera or whatevs.

Honestly, eating vegan has been awesome. I feel so much healthier and I love being a part of a cause that’s higher than myself. I don’t want to cause any animals suffering just because humans have decided they’re not cute enough to be pets. (Sometimes it seems like things being cute are what saved them from ever making it onto our dinner plates on a regular basis.)

I really really really encourage all of you to educate yourselves on veganism, and, as heartbreaking as it can be, to watch some videos showing how animals are treated in the meat and dairy industry. I didn’t think it was possible for stuff like that to legitimately turn me off meat, but it did. I know I said I sometimes take bites of Connor’s meat in restaurants, but I doubt I’ll be doing that anymore because the few times I’ve done it have made me feel a bit queasy. I just don’t find meat appealing anymore.

Veganism has also made me more aware of the need to protect Earth in general—I SUDDENLY CARE A BIT ABOUT RECYCLING, GUYS. And buying eco-friendly batteries, the environmental impact of which I honestly have no idea, but it can’t be the worst thing. I’m glad climate change is being talked about in politics lately—well done, America. You’re getting there. (Remember when you all denied evolution cause you’re so flipping Christian? Lololol.)

Now, to round things up on an inspirational note, here’s the most motivational weight loss speech you’ve ever heard:

If you have any questions for me about going vegan/Clickbait’s sleeping habits, tweet me @thesamspo and I’ll try to answer them! 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

